Commander's Letter Abyss

TellItLikeItIs

PEB Forum Regular Member
Registered Member
Hello everyone,

I am new to the PEBF and I have been looking for an answer as to HOW LONG a CC has to complete their letter portion of the MEB. I have numerous aliments and am getting worse. (PTSD, Severe Sleep Apnea, Fibromyalgia, Myositis, Anxiety non-specific, joint pain non-specific and I had an MPFL reconstruction). When I had a medical appointment my PCM was surprised to see that the MEB process hasn't medically retired/separated me.

Is there ANYTHING, I can do to interject and have the commander finish his portion of the letter. I am not WW qualified, I can't do 3/4 portions of the AF fitness test. I cannot lift objects over 20 lbs. Cannot deploy (I haven't been able to deploy for over a year), can't go TDY, can't PCS.

Any insight on this would be fantastic.

-TellItLikeItIs

Last edited:
7 days suspense. Ask the PEBLO to get in contact with the commander. If the commander blows off the PEBLO, the PEBLO should escalate through your chain. Everyone has a boss. I recommend doing your own write up and ask the commander to concur or change it. If he doesn't care enough to write it, they'll tend to just concur. Bring up the problem through the enlisted leadership, they can often help raise the priority of a task.

Be assertive and research the regs and write up the commanders letter and submit it to your commander instead of waiting. This way you can influence the outcome. If your commander doesn't know you from Jack. Or doesn't care, then the letter you wrote will be an easy way out... If your commander does in fact care, then they will take charge of the situation and writ a real commanders letter themself!

im sorry but a seven day suspense is garbage... The army has numerous ongoing requirements for its commanders.. For it to impose a 7 day suspense for anything is ridiculous....