VA vs. DOD VASRD interpretation differences

NAVYQestion1

Registered Member
This is a pretty specific question about the VA vs DOD interpretation of the VASRD. I was recently placed on the PDRL after my second TDRL eval. I’m a NAVY vet. I submitted a request for reconsideration, as I do not believe I was rated correctly. I wouldn’t be surprised if the reconsideration is denied and I’m sent to a FPEB. So I’m trying to get all my duck in a row.

Specifically, my question relates to pyramiding in relation to neurological conditions. I have my initial VA rating from when I was placed on the TDRL and my most recent rating was determined by the NAVY. I have Multiple Sclerosis and have lesions high in my spinal cord that cause a ton of different symptoms for the area below it. In my cause I have significant fatigue, sensation issues, pain, etc. that overlap as to effecting the same parts of the body. Initially, I thought that each part of the body could be rated iaw the VASRD as separate but then I was told that was pyramiding. But I did some more research and found a decision from the US Court for Appeals for Veterans Appeals (No. 10-0504)

https://veteranclaims.wordpress.com...c-f-r-4-25-murray-v-shinseki-24-vet-app-2011/

that goes into specific detail about how to rate iaw the VASRD if the symptomology is distinct and separate. I get all that and understand it. I get that this is a department of the VA decision. My question is this. Is this also binding or have you ever seen this argument applied to a DOD rating? I am specifically curious because SECNAVINST 1850.4E states in Part 8:

3801 Policy
a. Ratable Disabilities. Disabilities determined to be physically unfitting and
compensable under reference (c) shall be assigned a percentage rating.

b. Standard. Chapter 61 of reference (a) establishes the Department of Veterans