19 yrs & 7 months; Presumption of Fitness

OutKast Six

Registered Member
Good evening everyone;
This is my first post, however, I've utilized this site for research & the "search button" has been my friend. as the title of this thread suggests; I've been an active duty Marine for 19 years & 7 months. I'm still a SSgt/ E-6 I am a combat veteran of Iraq & Afghanistan. I was referred to the IDES at, well a few days past, my 19 year mark in August 2015.

I've got around (35) conditions that have been claimed to the VA & I have (2) conditions that were referred to the IDES/MEB as unfitting conditions. Those (2) were for PTSD/ Mental Health & for my Hip Replacement.

Today I got a phone call from the Navy Chiefs that are assigned to Naval Hospital Portsmouth with the assignment to counsel the service member once findings come back from the IPEB. The Chief informed me that the IPEB findings(???) came back as "Presumption of Fitness." I've searched all over the forum & have only found threads about Presumption of Fitness that pertain to service members who've already hit their 20 year mark & are wanting to overcome the Presumption of Fitness finding; basically it is a bad thing for them. I think in my case that it may be a great thing.

A few questions:
1. Is the Presumption of Fitness finding a positive finding in my case since I've yet to hit my 20 year mark.

2. HQ Marine Corps (HQMC) has already made my End of Active Service (EAS) to 99999, which is basically indefinite, before the IPEB findings came in. I think HQMC did this because I will/would either be retired via disability or by Length of Service (LOS) & high year tenure due to being a SSgt/E-6 & the 20 year service limit for my rank/rate. I do not have a retirement date & have not even put in a request for retirement. Am I still eligible for the Presumption of Fitness even though I don't have a approved retirement date?