20 good years in Sept...when can I safely disclose conditions to MTF?

abra

Registered Member
New'b here. I have several neuromuscular conditions that have a high likelihood of leading to an MEB if/when the full extent of my symptoms are revealed to my MTF. If I go ahead and press forward with this and schedule an MRI in March is there any way I could be med retired before I hit a good 20 years in Sept? Any other major timing considerations that I should be aware of? My goal is to make it to 20. Thanks in advance.

chaplaincharlie

Super Moderator
Staff Member
PEB Forum Veteran
Lifetime Supporter
Registered Member
Most MEB's take a considerable amount of time. 4-6 months would be very fast. in what branch do you serve? How much leave have you accrued?

abra

Registered Member
Most MEB's take a considerable amount of time. 4-6 months would be very fast. in what branch do you serve? How much leave have you accrued?
I’m a single-seat Air Force pilot so it’s a bit of a difficult needle to thread because as soon as I get an MRI I’ll be grounded and probably never fly an ejection seat aircraft again. If I could just retire at 20 I’d gut it out but my ADSC takes me to 22, which I don’t think I can do without causing long-term damage.

I technically hit 20 in Dec 21. Sept is accounting for my accrued leave and 20 days PTDY.

chaplaincharlie

Super Moderator
Staff Member
PEB Forum Veteran
Lifetime Supporter
Registered Member
If you are medically retired, your ADSC is irrelevant. Are YOU safe flying? If not, the rest is a no sequitur. Is there someone in the unit that will work with you?

Guardguy11

Super Moderator
Staff Member
PEB Forum Veteran
Registered Member