About to begin a PEB in April

Hello:

I am currently on AD (USN). I am working with my behavioral health provider, who is also a convening authority (CA). My PEB will address my ankle, back, and mental health issues. Right now I only have two questions, although more questions will come as I get deeper into this process. I'm an officer who works in medical plans; question 2, below, relates to this comment.

1) Question 1: My provider wants me to find an advocate from the VFW. Has anyone else been done this before or been asked to do the same?
NOTE: I emailed a VFW claims rep. and he responded with an ALL CAPS email telling me to: SUBMIT A VA CLAIM WITH VA FORM 21-526EZ WITH THE MEDICAL EVIDENCE AND LET THE VA REVIEW THE DOCTORS REPORTS. Is this the right time to do this, considering my doc hasn't even convened the PEB yet?

2) Question 2: can I be placed in a duty status where I focus on my recovery vs. having to continue to go to the office and execute my MOS related duties? I don't want to give my command a reason to target me for disciplinary action just because I'm not focused. As one of only a few medical planners I'm constantly tasked with one exercise planning task after another. I really just want to transition out of the military and stop exacerbating my conditions. What's the best way to be in good standing while also addressing my medical issues?

Makarov

PEB Forum Veteran
Registered Member