script async src="//pagead2.googlesyndication.com/pagead/js/adsbygoogle.js">

Army FPEB; Overcoming Presumption of Fitness (PFIT)

BrokenArrow86

PEB Forum Veteran
Registered Member
Hello,

First of all, thanks to everyone on this forum! Without it I would be so lost, as my PEBLO definitely doesn't know anything other than how to copy/paste.

I am currently moving into the FPEB phase. Unfortunately, the IPEB found me "fit by presumption", I have seen this called PFIT in other forums here. I have talked to the MEB lawyer, who reviewed my case and didn't have much to say other than reviewing and concurring with the appeal letter that I wrote. I will try to breakdown my situation in enough detail, and hopefully this thread can confirm or help my strategy.

1. I am an officer in the Army and have been passed for promotion twice. I have received high marks on my annual evaluations (apparently evidence of PFIT) and, in many cases, have a better evaluation record than my peers that have been promoted. What I am lacking is the required Professional Military Education (PME) for my next grade. I was also designated as MRC4 during the promotion boards.

2. I have been dealing with my back injury for over 2 years now. During that time I had to cancel my PME, and have never recovered enough to meet attendance requirements.

3. In October I received notice that I was being involuntarily separated due to the 2 time no select law. This is also when my presumptive period began.

4. In November I was referred to the MEB. Fast forward to 1 April, 100% VA recommendation letter.. and after 69 days I received my PFIT 199 from the IPEB. PFIT was due to: MEB initiated after presumptive period began, high marks on evaluations.

My strategy loosely defined in my appeal letter is to show:

A. I do not meet DoDI 1332.18; as that is for retirement, as I am not retiring
B. I can overcome the presumption as defined in AR 635-40 for separation by: