Don't want to get out, but want to know what to expect..previous bone cancer, partial pelvis removal

AirmanKelly

PEB Forum Regular Member
Registered Member
Hello all. I was hoping that I could get some guidance on what to expect. I am a member of the Air National Guard with almost 14 years in, all Guard, no active except a short temp AGR tour. I am currently a Federal Air Guard Technician which means my job is dependant on being a member of the Air Guard. Back in November, during a routine xray, a tumor was found on my pelvis. Due to the type of cancer (chondrosarcoma), the only treatment was removal of the ischium of my right pelvis. Since that is where our hamstrings are connected, they had to be reattached elsewhere. Currently I am still trying to get back to normal, but five months out, I am still having trouble just walking at any type of speed, let alone run.

I am currently on a profile until July 2015 and have sent all of my medical paperwork to our Med Group. Last month I got a letter in the mail from my med group asking my physician to write a letter explaining my diagnosis, prognosis, and any limitations. His letter was pretty vague which makes me think that Med Group will ask for my clarification, but he did state that I have a "good to fair for high-level function (she will likely be limited by loss of fully functional hamstrings". I am currently cancer free but will need scans probably for life to make sure I am cancer free. My prognosis is excellent.

Here's my question. I don't want to get out of the Air Guard. I like it here and I want to keep my job, but should I prepare myself for possibility of being found unfit?

Possible. Is the condition service connected? Has the VA rated the condition? Be aware of 10 USC 12733b that would allow you to retire if unfit for a non service connected condition if you have at least 15 years of service. Such a retirement does not kick in to age 60.

Fitness is a very fickle thing and hard to predict.

Mike