Honorable Discharge to Medical Retirement

teacher0331

Registered Member
This is my first time posting here, and wanted to know if it is possible to request to change my honorable discharge to medical retirement. I served just under 7 years (4 USMC, 2 years 7 months Army). I was infantry with one combat deployment and 2 training deployments throughout South East Asia. I was on a profile basically my entire Army enlistment due to back problems and PTSD. When going over my options with my Medical Officer in Korea he informed me that a med board would likely hold me past my ETS for close to a year and he wouldn't recommend me for much of a rating, he told me it would be a waste of time so I went ahead and finished the rest of my contract on a profile and applied for a voluntary early release to attend college. Within days of getting out off active duty I received my VA disability rating of 100% P&T. I understand DOD ratings are completely different than VA rating but I feel like I was basically lied to by my MO when he said that a med board would have been pointless. I've now been off active duty for almost a year and a half and didn't know if it was possible to go through BCMR to become medically retired.

gsfowler

Staff Member
PEB Forum Veteran
Yes, you can definitely request a discharge upgrade. The fact that you were rated within days of discharge can really help your claim.

If the medical separation took place between 9/11/2001 and 12/31/2009 you can go through the Physical Disability Board of Review (PDBR).

If the medical separation took place after 1/1/2010 you can go through the ABCMR.

chaplaincharlie

Staff Member
PEB Forum Lifetime Supporter
PEB Forum Veteran
Registered Member
Great advice from @gsfowler above! I'd get a copy of that VAratings that occurred just after separation and hold on to them.

teacher0331

Registered Member