I am being screwed, partly because I am a doctor; the other part looks like the MEB physician doesnt know what they are doing!

MPdoc19

PEB Forum Regular Member
Registered Member
I apologize for the longggg post, but there's alot of info here that I really need perspective on. Yes, I am a medical officer so that off the bat screws me at the medical board. My husband is a retired disabled combat vet (enlisted 82nd airborne), I joined the Army to be a GOOD physician because lord knows the soldiers and their families need someone who treats them right and tells the TRUTH about whatever medical condition they have and not downplay it because I have seen it happen. I planned to stay until retirement, but I just can't anymore. Between my conditions and my husband's the military is not going to be able to accomodate the flexibility I need for both of us. What can I do? I am going to appeal, but based on the below information, am I in a losing game? I feel that this NARSCUM is basically saying they don't believe I am in pain and blowing me off. Any help is appreciated.

In the NARSCUM, the MEB physician downgraded my L3 to an L2, reported no having orthopedics notes/evidence to support my claim. They absolutely had these notes as she later copy and pastes the patient instructions portion of an orthopedics note. This is the actual assessment from the orthopedic surgeon: “Despite relatively benign MRI findings, clinically patient has bilateral medial tibial stress syndrome with recurrence with an form of running, short or long distances. As patient is in the military, recommend deferral of any physical training that requires running, especially with added weight. Patient to defer from sprint, drag, carry type exercises etc. paperwork filled out today to reflect above restrictions in detail.” “Return to clinic on an as-needed basis.” There is also x-ray evidence of one episode of tibia stress fractures which they also had.