I need help, please!

Josh4013

Registered Member
Hello, my name is Joshua and I am an E-5/2nd Class Petty Officer. I have been in the active duty component of the Navy for almost nine years. My last active duty command was overseas and while I was stationed there for shore duty I started gaining weight and before I knew it I had two PRT failures looming over my head. I managed to save myself when they changed the regulations for the PRT for January 2016 and finally passed and got my two PRT failures condensed into one. I eventually opted out of the active duty component in March 24th, 2017 and transitioned into the Naval Reserves.

After that I was waiting for nearly a month and a half for them to contact me about when I was supposed to show up for my first drill weekend because my transition was supposed to be seamless; When in fact it was not. I was calling the Jacksonville, FL NOSC for information since it was the closest one to where I live. However, I was told that they knew nothing about me and that I should wait for an email that was supposed to have my orders in them. I never received that email still to this day.

Instead, I get a call from a Chief who asks why I’m not present for Drill Weekend and this was in the middle of April 2017. I explained to him that I haven’t even received orders yet and he tells me to go up to the NOSC in Jacksonville anyways to attend Reservist Indoc and these classes were on the 22nd and 23rd of April. So, I go to these classes and all seems to be going well.

During the time-period from when I arrived home and taking this class, I had put on a few pounds from my parents’ home cooking. Well, anyways, at this class I find out that they are doing the PRT for the Spring Cycle of 2017 and that my Active Duty failures had carried over. Also, during this time they rushed me and everyone else through a hasty medical examination to undoubtedly ensure we’d be able to take the PRT for that cycle and this was on the 23rd of April 2017.