need some help

bizzle05

PEB Forum Regular Member
I have just been informed that I have to go through the MEB process. Real quick, I have had both hips replaced and I have been diagnosed with PTSD and obstructive sleep apnea which I use a CPAP for. I was told that at most I might get 20% for everything. This I refuse to believe. I have 3 tours to Iraq and I have been in 14 1/2 years. I want to stay till I hit 20. Any kind of feedback will be greatly appreciated, thanks.

green594

PEB Forum Regular Member
PEB Forum Veteran
Bizzle- i am not a pro at this but i wanted to send you something.

Are you active component or Reserve component? What are your PULHES? what is the medical impairment that is sending you to the MED? Is it one condition like the sleep apnea or is it a combination of all conditions? If is the sleep apea, AR 40-501 allows you 1 year to work on the issue, for example, lose weight or get a prosthetic mouth guard. Can you request a medical profile downgrade?

A couple of things to keep in mind. Google a copy of DOD instruction NUMBER 1332.39 it may be on this site. Even through the 2008 NDAA said that the PED would rate you according to the VASRD (department of veterans affairs rating scale) , it is my belief that this is still not the case. You will need to be prepared. Become familiar with sleep apnea on page 40. It talks about industrial impairment, if you are having any issues with sleep depervation at work you will need to let the doctor know this. Also you will need to note how well you are adapting to your machine. i have a terrible time with my CPAP, many nights i through the mask across the room. if this is the case let the doctor know this. Page 64 of this guide is also important with regards to you PTSD, you will need to figure out where you fit.

I wish you luck

Jason Perry

Benevolent Leader
Site Founder
Staff Member
PEB Forum Veteran
Lifetime Supporter
Registered Member