PCS Move Reimbursement

Manmumar

PEB Forum Veteran
Registered Member
Hi PEB'ers,
Hoping I could get some assistance on this. I think I saw something similar but can't locate it at the moment. I'm a Marine Veteran with a complicated situation that is getting easier as I work through issues.

I did a PCS DITY move in 2004 (on my own dime) and now that my case has been overturned, I'm looking for reimbursement of my expenses. I instinctually kept electronic copies of all of my receipts for the move, but at the time I didn't think I could have the government pay for my expenses back to my Home of Record...but that's water under the bridge.

I reached out to HQMC and they responded that after 16 years, it would require an exception to policy. DFAS asked me to cite the regulations that requires the government to pay for the move of my HHG (household goods). I found it here:

Refs:
051002 of the JTR- Joint Travel Regulations (attached)
E. Service Member Receives a Discharge or Separation Order While on Leave. A Service member who travels on leave at personal expense and receives a DD214, “Certificate of Release or Discharge from Active Duty,” or a separation order during his or her leave is authorized PCS travel and transportation allowances. These allowances are paid from the Service member’s last PDS and not the leave location.

0513 is the HHG (Household Goods) section and it covers STANDARD ALLOWANCES

A couple questions:
Has anyone had experience with this?
Who did you submit the request to? (DFAS, HQMC, other...)
Did they reimburse you for the value of actual receipts held?
Or were you given a flat amount based on weight moved (up to the limits given for your rank)?
Did you file a PPM checklist?

Thank you
Semper Fi

Reference website linked above:
Defense Finance and Accounting Service > CivilianEmployees > Civilian Permanent Change of Station (PCS) > Civilian PCS Entitlement Guide > Movement and Storage of Household Goods (HHG)

Attachments