Pending FFDE

rachelf85

PEB Forum Regular Member
A little background: I broke my femoral neck in BCT a week before graduation and ended up having a hip pinning. I went through rehabilitation and passed my APFT, so I was sent to AIT to continue training. I passed another APFT shortly after arrival, but the pain has never gone away. I tried to push through it but when I put on my full battle gear, my leg collapsed and I was sent to the MTF where they gave me some decent pain killers and set me up for physical therapy. Sadly, it is a small post so I only get one appointment before I see the orthopedist again. My CO and 1SG had a meeting and have decided to send me to a FFDE. I am still an IET soldier, but I've been in the Army now for 15 months.

I looked up the retention standards for hip ROM and there is no way I meet them and I honestly cannot push through the pain anymore. It is challenging me mentally now. I don't know the regulations about an IET soldier getting on permanent profile but I'm told that I cannot graduate my AIT training with one.

So my question is this: does my ability to walk without a limp guarantee that I'll be rated less than 30%? I don't want to get discharged but I can't run, I can't ruck march, and I can't qualify with my weapon because I can't kneel, so if I have to be separated, I want to make sure I start this process the correct way.

Thanks in advance for any advice you can give.

So my question is this: does my ability to walk without a limp guarantee that I'll be rated less than 30%? I don't want to get discharged but I can't run, I can't ruck march, and I can't qualify with my weapon because I can't kneel, so if I have to be separated, I want to make sure I start this process the correct way.