Pilot medical disqualification and Active Duty Service Commitment (ADSC)

sq52

PEB Forum Regular Member
Registered Member
Hi-

I am an Active Duty pilot being medically disqualified from flying. I believe I still meet retention standards. I do have an Assignment Limitation Code (ALC) of C-2. I'm also currently on a profile where I can't run. I am considering retraining, or separating, but I currently have about 4 years left on my ADSC. My questions are:
1. Can/will my ADSC be waived?
2. If not, do I have to retrain? What happens if I decline retraining?

Thank you!!

RonG

Super Moderator
Staff Member
PEB Forum Veteran
Registered Member
Hello,

In my opinion, the majority of the members of this board (past and present) were/are enlisted and most (all ranks) had/have 10 years or less of active duty.

You are certainly welcome to post your concerns here, but if I had a similar situation, I first would do my own research via regulations on the Internet and the location where posted.
A visit to your personnel office might be in order.

Here is one source of info regarding ADSC, but I doubt it is adequate for your needs.
Air Force Instruction 36-2107, Active Duty Service Commitments: What Aviators Need to Know. <---LINK

I've tagged a couple of senior members of this board who might be able to offer better assistance.
@chaplaincharlie @tony292

Good luck,
Ron

RonG

Super Moderator
Staff Member
PEB Forum Veteran
Registered Member
Addendum:

AIR FORCE INSTRUCTION 36-2107
https://static.e-publishing.af.mil/production/1/af_a1/publication/afi36-2107/afi36-2107.pdf <---LINK

3.8. Failure to Complete the ADSC for Education, Bonus, or Similar Benefit, Title 37, U.S.C., Section 303a(e) or Section 373. 3.8.1.