Psoriasis / Psoriatic Arthritis / Humira MEB; RAF Lakenheath

Bwit43

PEB Forum Veteran
Registered Member
Good day forum,

I wanted to post my timeline and keep it updated as I feel like I am getting to the point where it may be beneficial to other people and I check on new posts for information multiple times a day.

My background is: 10 years Active Duty Air Force, currently at RAF Lakenheath, England. I was diagnosed with Psoriasis in 2012 while deployed and have basically been off and on topical steroids ever since. I was officially diagnosed with Psoriatic Arthritis in 2016 after multiple physical therapy referrals and numerous Naproxen prescriptions. This took my new dermatologist after PCS'ing to England referring me off-base to a Rheumatologist instead of getting passed around the clinic. After a 2017 deployment, the topical ointments basically stopped working and I was getting 2-3 hours a sleep a night due to primarily back/hip pain. This lead to March of 2019 when my Derm said I would start Humira (was putting it off as long as I could) or start an MEB because my conditions were uncontrollable with just topical steroids and ibuprofen for pain. Initially, my PCM and Derm said I could be returned to duty with a limitation code, but after talking to the VA MSC and PEBLO, it seems the realistic shot of being found fit is extremely slim. Ultimately, I would like to be found fit for duty, but am expecting to be unfit and pushing for the highest ratings that my conditions should warrant. I claimed a few additional items with a total of 15 off the top of my head. I just read through my VA exams today and will probably be following up with some concerns with the exams (the podiatry/podiatrist was the worst doctor I dealt with there). They also sent me to the Washington D.C. VA Medical Center as the doctors doing the exams in England did not have their contracts renewed.