public law 97-253, 60/40 disability retirement.

surfnut19

PEB Forum Regular Member
Registered Member
I was a dual status technician in the Florida Air National Guard -FANG-. My pay grade was a WG10 step 5. I was medically injured on the military side of the house, durning the time of injury. The civilian side forced me to take a chance to lower pay grade. From a WG10 step 5 to WG5 step 5 due to the injuries. I received a medical separation from service, over 14 of service. Then I was disability retired under public law 97-253 AKA 60/40 retirement. Durning the out processing for this retirement HQ processed me out as a WG5 step 5 not a WG10 step 5. the WG10 step 5 pay grade is what is was, complying with conditions of employment at the time of injury. Has anyone ever been able to there pay grade return back the pay grade at the time of injury.
Steps taken
1- talked to OPM - Office of Personal Management - they told me to have to correction done with the Florida National Guard.
2- Florida national guard did a management review and said they will not return me back to my pay grade that I had at the time of injury.

Based on #2 above, I recommend you hire an attorney. It sounds like you may have to sue to get your WG10 reinstated. An attorney would be able to provide an asseesment of your complete situation.

www.peblawyer.com

Are you questioning the final pay or the final grade when you retired for disability from the civilian side?

i was an AF Reservist that was retired as a result of an IDES MEB. I was also a GS civilian employee for the AF, but not a technician. At the conclusion of the MEB I had to apply for an OPM disability retirement because I could no longer perform my civilian job.

I was approved for the disability retirement. There was no other job that was available on the base or commuting area that was comparable to my grade/pay.

I was retired at the current grade and at the high 3 average.