Questions on IDES process - no current LOD

datroubl

Registered Member
I am in the Air Guard and I am a dual status technician. I did 5 years of active duty before joining the guard and ended up with 20% va disability for my shoulder. Our clinic kept trying to say maybe I needed to get out when I first joined the guard in 98 due to my va disability. Since I have been in, I have injured my shoulder a few times, once we started LOD paperwork but now looking back it does not seem like it was completed. Then when I was deployed to the Deid, I injured it again. Whiplash that had the backs of my hands go numb and couldn't turn my neck. I have paperwork in my med records for this appt but there are no Dr notes on it even though they prescribed medication (pain pill/flexeril/motrin) and I had made a note in my post deployment paperwork.

Since returning from this deployment my neck/shoulder pain has gotten a lot worse, I have nerve pain down my arm and in 2015 through my personal insurance had a disc replacement surgery for this. It helped for about a year but if I do hardly anything with my right arm I am in a lot of pain, my arm will swell up and it is bad. Due to being a technician I have just sucked it up. I had another issue come up and I have to go through the IDES process. We are going forward due to my shoulder but I do not have an LOD for either of these events. They have submitted paperwork for this, but i was told that even with the LOD they may go down the route of non duty disability due to having been cleared to work after these events.

I was originally hurt on active duty and it has gone downhill from there and the case of whiplash I believe has made it a lot worse. Is there anything I can do to try to keep it on the military side of the board vs non duty?

Good luck to them trying to rate it “non duty related” when you have a VA disability rating for it already. This seems like a common theme on the guard/reserve side.