Should i appeal or get attourney?

Pavetim

PEB Forum Veteran
Registered Member
I am being MEB'd and i found out I could apply for SSDI which I did and got denied because " I can work, I can do somethings" should I appeal I am a helicopter mechanic by trade, been in for 18 years and cannot do my job anymore. I have to be in an office and even thats getting hard. I planned on doing maintenance when i got out but that's not an option now and 18 years wasted training lol. Pretty much all plans and backup plans failed due to my back getting worse. I'm not understanding how they mean i can work, sure anybody can work, i can sit and sharpen pencils all day but can't do work i have been trained for.

Chaps_Z

PEB Forum Veteran
Registered Member
Everyone, even those without a job, has trouble getting approved for SSDI without a lawyer.

Getting approved while active is not impossible, but difficult to say the least.

Jason Perry

Benevolent Leader
Site Founder
Staff Member
PEB Forum Veteran
Registered Member
Getting approved while active is not impossible, but difficult to say the least.
Not sure I agree on this point. Many folks get approval for SSDI while on active duty. I specifically comment because I worry that such statements or input may discourage folks from applying/appealing. The standards are what they are and if you objectively qualify, you should pursue this benefit. It is often granted. However, the corollary is true- if you can engage in substantial gainful activities, you may be properly denied. Until you apply (and, if denied, you appeal), you won't get an answer. The value of the benefit is something that makes pursuing it makes sense in cases where the issues are clear or "close enough."

Chaps_Z

PEB Forum Veteran
Registered Member