Stretch IDES to 20 yos. At 19 now

LuLa

PEB Forum Regular Member
Registered Member
I am super scared to post this but I need help. Been AD for 19 years and have held in my sexual assault trauma for 12 years. Never told anyone. I didn’t want to get kicked out for mental health issues but the mask I’ve been wearing for 12 years is getting too heavy to hold.

I sought treatment with MH two years ago. Diagnosed with Anxiety/Depression. Never told my therapist about the incident but wanted to. Treatment ended after one year and received meds to help. Which they do…to a point.

I was able to hide my fear for years but now it’s unbearable. I am scared to go TDY anymore. I cannot work with men without severe anxiety (which is most of the military). I can’t work out on post because there are mostly men there. Work is literally killing me. Life has become almost unbearable.

All that said, if I report this and I’m diagnosed with something PTSD or some other mental disorder, can I be MEB’d?

Also, I’m within a year of retirement. Def don’t want to retire medically before 20 but I also want the service to treat me and/or start an MEB.

I also don’t just want to push the button and ignore what happened. I think the military owes me help. What can I do to stretch the IDES process to retire at 20 yos?

Any and all recommendations welcome.

chaplaincharlie

Super Moderator
Staff Member
PEB Forum Veteran
Lifetime Supporter
Registered Member
I'm sorry to hear you and your trust in teammates was violated. It is inexcusable behavior.

Yes, it is possible that it would result in an MEB. But treatment should be offered first It is also possible that it would not result in a MEB. Severity of symptoms would be the deciding point.

The VA has Vet Centers all around the country. Each office has a staff member with specialized training in MST. Going to Vet Center is completely separate from DoD mental health.