US Navy Medical Corps Officer denied LIMDU- Questions of how they will categorize me

USNDOC

Registered Member
Found this forum while searching around and have been extremely hard pressed to find an answer to my question. A brief background. I am an active duty physician who has been diagnosed with an immune deficiency requiring monthly infusions to boost my immune system. As a result, I have been told I am non-deployable. The medical department where I am working was required to file LIMDU paperwork to "put me in the system" since big navy was attempting to deploy me. I recently was told that PERS denied the LIMDU and asked for me to go directly to a MEB. The confusing part for me is that the med board "expert" at the clinic told me that I would be found fit for service due to my being a physician and that the medical dept should try to make that finding themselves and not have me referred to a MEB.

1. How can I be fit for duty yet still require monthly infusions which make me non-deployable? Also due to immune deficiency I am at risk for infections etc.

2. Does a finding of fit or unfit mean that I am not eligible for disability benefits for my condition?- I have been on active duty for 12 yrs and have only had issues leading to the diagnosis for 2 years.

3. How the heck do I proceed and what should my response be to the command who wants to just find me fit? Im concerned about being deployed to an area, being sick and having no backup to take care of those who need the medical care.

Thanks for the input.

V/r

US Navy Medical Corps Officer denied LIMDU- Questions of how they will categorize

Welcome, glad you found us!

It is EXTREMELY difficult (i.e., I have never seen it happen) for a physician to be found unfit. In part, I think, this is due to the value of the skills and knowledge physicians have, but also because of separate rules about unfit findings for these members:

SECNAVINST 1850.4E: