USN Dental Officer. IPEB results returned, should I request VA reconsideration?

dwordal

PEB Forum Regular Member
Registered Member
Sorry for the "11th hour" post but I've kind of run out of options for where to turn for advice in this whole process and my 10 day window is up on Thursday...

First, a little background. I am a USN Dental Officer (general dentist) and was diagnosed with type 1 diabetes almost exactly 1 yr ago (June 15 2011). Since then, I have been through the entire horrible PEB process and just received my IPEB results last week.

Results:
I was found unfit, with an unfit rating of 60% and an overall 80% VA rating, and recommended for the TDRL. From what I understand, the way they did my unfit rating was a little unusual and therefore I'm a little confused on how to proceed.

Unfit rating total: 60%
Diabetes (20%)
Idiopathic Headaches (30%)
Tremors left/right hands (10%...bilateral rating)

Since my diabetes diagnosis, I have suffered from chronic headaches, trembling/tingling & poor circulation in my hands, and a whole host of other issues. Obviously, as a dentist, these issues have led to less than adequate performance of my job/duties. Even though I've had continued good A1cs (under 7%) and strict blood sugar control...I'm still having these issues. As far as my submitted PEB paperwork...I was originally only referred for type 1 diabetes. I was expecting/hoping, with all of my secondary symptoms, to receive at most a 40% rating on the diabetes and PDRL. The specific breakdown of the diabetes, headachess and tremors was a surprise.

My question is whether or not I should submit a reconsideration request to the VA to try to get the diabetes itself bumped from 20-40%? During this last year, I've also had to restrict my physical activities due to hypoglycemia issues and have accompanying documentation (waived PFAs, note from primary, etc) which should meet the additional requirement of "regulation of activities" to warrant a 40% rating.