I have been resourcing this site for two months and have gained an enormous amount of knowledge from it. Thank you!
I would greatly appreciate any advice that can be given for my dilemma. I will try to make things as concise as possible.
My husband (USMC 1998-2002, 0351 & AD Army, 2005-present, 11B) was referred to IDES for a "neck condition". He completed 4 C&P exams and received NARSUM August 20, 2015. We consulted with Counsel at the Fort Carson JAG August 22, 2015.
A little history...he had an accident (referred to as "hard landing") in Feb 2006 in Airborne School. Not sure the exact details but there were issues with the parachute, he landed and his buttocks, hit his head and had LOC for approx. 35 minutes. He was subsequently transported to MACH where no fracture was seen (Later Dx as L1 60% vertebral compression fxt), however a CT Scan revealed enlarged lateral ventricles consistent with normal-pressure hydrocephalus. He was released from the MACH ED the same day, and continued to follow-up with PT from 2006-2007. During this time he was a Combatives Instructor and had near knock-outs where he was dazed and "saw stars" (according to C&P). He deployed to Iraq in 2008, Drill Sgt. 2010-2013, and Afghanistan 2013-2014.
In 2007 he began having low back pain that increased in severity. 2011 had L4-S1 spinal fusion. 2012 began having severe neck pain, L shoulder pain, numbness, tingling, etc. He was referred to MEB after 8 months PT and they said they could not work with him anymore due to his neck condition. He is also not a surgical candidate. In December 2014 Cervical MRI findings are consistent with Chiari Malformation as evidenced by low lying cerebellar tonsils and Syrinx" (3 mm), along with degenerative changes. Follow-up MRI to check the size of the syrinx for growth in June 2015, where it remains at 3mm.